Where TF is The Iron Giant?

No, seriously.

The next movie I should view for Watch My Library is The Iron Giant. I know I own a DVD copy of it. Even if I don’t completely trust my memory these days, I know this is true. My spreadsheet confirms it.1

But where is it? It’s not on the shelf. I have unpacked all the boxes from my recent move. It is nowhere in my new home. What happened to it?

Some theories:

  • My movers lost it somehow.
  • My movers stole it on purpose.
  • My movers broke it and didn’t want to confess.
  • My ex still has it with his DVD collection.2
  • My dog ate it and did a particularly thorough job of digesting it.
  • Black hole.
  • Ghosts.

I don’t quite know what I’m going to do about it. It’s available on HBO Max right now, so I could watch it for no cost and still write about it. But technically it’s no longer part of my library and therefore outside the scope of Watch My Library. And thinking long-term… I don’t know.

I love that movie, but I’ve also seen it so many times. Is it really worth replacing if I have already demonstrated that I’m not going to fire it up that often? I get in the mood to watch it sometimes, but usually only when I’m crafting and otherwise not inclined to pay complete attention. There’s no shortage of filler television available for that purpose. Do I really need a physical copy of Iron Giant in my life?

I do know this. Losing the one I already had makes me sad.

1 Yes, I have spreadsheet that lists all the movies I own. I am 100 percent that librarian.

2 Wouldn’t that be a tasty irony? However, I’m tolerably certain I remember watching it at my place after I moved out.

Leave a comment