The Movies of 2015

In 2015 I decided to focus on my professional development rather than hobbies. I started a certificate program to build my technical qualifications, and that takes up approximately 120% of the free time I would rather spend blogging about movies and television. The program ends in May, so mark your calendars, kiddies. This blog will be back with a vengeance Memorial Day Weekend 2016. Woot.

In the meantime, here are my 2015 watch lists.

The System (only for theatrical viewings):
* Good enough to justify the ticket price
** I genuinely liked it
X I hated it
+ Number of repeat viewings at the theater

Theatrical List:

Birdman *
Oscar-nominated Animated Shorts **
Jupiter Ascending
Home *
The Avengers: Age of Ultron **
Tomorrowland *
Jurassic World *
Inside Out **
Minions *
Terminator: Genisys **
Ant-Man *
Trainwreck *
American Ultra *
Hitman: Agent 47
Mad Max: Fury Road **
The Martian **
Crimson Peak **
Spotlight **
Krampus *
The Good Dinosaur *
Star Wars: The Force Awakens *

Some thoughts on my theatrical list:

  • I saw 21 movies in theaters this year with no repeats. This is a marked drop over my average from the last several years. See note above re: certificate program. But I enjoyed myself almost every time.
  • If I had to pick a favorite, I’d probably say The Martian. But Terminator: Genisys and Spotlight are a close second and third. Genisys will probably hold up the best for multiple home viewings over time.
  • Marvel’s offerings this year didn’t speak to me as much. They still have my love, but the bloom is probably off the rose at this point. Also, they’re releasing just too damn much product. I can’t keep up anymore. Do you know I’ve still only had time to watch one episode of the Daredevil show? Tragedy. I’ll be drawing social security before I get to Jessica Jones at this rate.
  • My most anticipated movie of the year was Jurassic World, which is a weird thing to admit in the midst of all this Star Wars mania. Yet, still true. I don’t think I loved Jurassic World as much as I’d hoped I would, but I wouldn’t characterize it as disappointing either. Solidly entertaining, but just a little problematic in some places.
  • I liked The Force Awakens well enough, but it really seemed to exist primarily to get pieces in place for future movies. If Disney really plans to churn out a movie a year using this film as a starting point, then I’m hopeful that at least some of them will rock my face off.

Home Viewing List:

Let’s Be Cops
MST3K: Rocket Attack USA
Predestination
Patton Oswalt: Tragedy Plus Comedy Equals Time
The Interview
The Awakening
Boomerang
MST3K: Hamlet
MST3K: Girl in Gold Boots
Horrible Bosses 2
Hot Tub Time Machine 2
Sinister
Into the Woods
MST3K: Alien from L.A.
MST3K: Project Moonbase
The Babadook
Best in Show
The Others
Going Clear
Dennis Rodman: Big Bang in Pyongyang
Snowpiercer
MST3K: The Day the Earth Froze
Justice League: Gods and Monsters
MST3K: Secret Agent Super Dragon
The Skeleton Twins
Cars
Lilo & Stitch
James and the Giant Peach
Big Fish
Ex Machina
MST3K: Space Mutiny

Leave a Reply

