The Movies of 2013

The System:
* Good enough to justify the ticket price
** I genuinely liked it
X I hated it
+ Number of repeat viewings at the theater

Theatrical List:

Django Unchained *
Silver Linings Playbook *
This is 40 X
Warm Bodies **
Oz, the Great and Powerful
Jack the Giant Slayer **
Oblivion *
Iron Man 3 ** +1
Olympus Has Fallen
Now You See Me *
Much Ado About Nothing **
Despicable Me 2 **
World War Z *
Monsters University *
Man of Steel *
RED 2 *
RiffTrax: Starship Troopers **
Kick-Ass 2
The World’s End
This is the End *
Don Jon **
Gravity **
RiffTrax: Night of the Living Dead **
RiffTrax: Santa Claus *
Philomena *

Home Viewing List:

John Dies at the End **
Dredd *
Iron Sky X
Frankenweenie *
Batman: Year One
All-Star Superman
Silent Hill: Revelation

So I saw 25 movies in the theater this year, which is exactly one less than 2012. And I maintained my satisfaction rate of approximately 80 percent . Overall, not a lot of duds or poor movie-going decisions on my part. But I did manage to miss out on several titles I was interested in seeing, which is always disappointing because I’m nowhere near as likely to watch something new at home as I am to revisit something I’ve already seen.

Particularly considering the way 2013 trended with my home viewing. Dang. I’m down from 20 to a mere seven. Seven. Granted, I’m watching a lot fewer movies because I’m watching a lot more television episodes, but still.

If I think of it at all in the future, then 2013 will be remembered as a year of modest entertainments. I made friends with a few movies, but didn’t fall head over heels in love ever. I had some surprises and some disappointments, but probably nothing I’m going to remember a couple years down the road. I can’t even decide if I actually have a favorite film this year. Gravity was probably my most powerfully affecting viewer experience, but I also can’t imagine myself ever watching it a second time. And I discovered that I probably like Nicholas Hoult because he had two winners (Warm Bodies, Jack the Giant Slayer), but I’ll need a few more positive experiences to really call myself a fan. And I really like RiffTrax events. And that’s it for 2013.

2 responses »

  1. You and I didn’t wind up with much crossover this year – maybe about 1/3 of our lists or so – but I did see 22 new (or newly-altered, I guess) movies that came out in 2013. Two of them at home, but they still hit theaters this past year, so… that counts, right?

    Theatrical:

    Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters
    Warm Bodies
    A Good Day to Die Hard
    G.I. Joe: Retaliation
    Evil Dead
    Oblivion
    Iron Man 3
    Star Trek Into Darkness
    Fast & Furious 6
    Man of Steel
    Rifftrax: Starship Troopers
    The Wolverine
    Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters
    Riddick
    RED 2
    Gravity
    Ender’s Game
    Thor: The Dark World
    The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
    Frozen

    At Home:

    The Host
    Now You See Me

    A special no-prize goes to “Evil Dead” for being the biggest disappointing waste of my time and money in 2013.

    • I’m pretty sure I know at least one person who liked the Evil Dead remake, but I can’t remember who. Obviously it isn’t you. And I just checked with Tim, and it wasn’t him either.

Leave a Reply

